‘I can see Russia from my house!’

by

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler as Palin and
Clinton on Saturday Night Live
Originally uploaded by Thomas Roche

Saturday Night Live made a wise decision when it asked the brilliant Tina Fey back to do a guest spot last week as the US Republican Party’s vice presidential candidate, Sarah Palin. The skit has got the whole world laughing and has even made the news worldwide.

As I watched the whole skit on Youtube, I must admit, I was in stitches. But beyond my laughter, there was a dark cloud looming over me. Finally, America not only has a black candidate running in the upcoming election, it has a woman too. I should be happy, shouldn’t I? I’ve been waiting for this.

Unfortunately, my feeling of feminist triumph was shrouded by Palin herself, a member of the National Rifle Association, anti-abortionist, beauty pageant runner up and current homophobe.

Palin is certainly not the pick of the crop when it comes to female politicians, or all politicians for that matter. What was McCain thinking? Did Obama’s lipstick comment actually hit a nerve there somewhere?

Palin, who only got a passport two years ago, left North America for the first time in July last year. The Republican Party, however, claims that she would be up on her foreign affairs because “Alaska is close to Russia”. Hmmm … Anyone buy that one?

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “‘I can see Russia from my house!’”

  1. nyscha Says:

    This is the first time I’ve seen it.

    I.am.in.tears. I think I dislocated my intestines from laughing so hard.

    But one thing though, I’m glad Palin’s been chosen, because now I have hope. Now ANYONE can become Vice President of the US, even me. All I have to do is go to the hairdresser, get Tina Fey glasses, fill out the form on the back of a Kellogg’s Rice Krispies cereal box and send it in and I’m on my way to the Whitehouse.

    Hahaha.
    Cheers for that clip, I needed a laugh.

  2. Theresia P. Says:

    If this whole Palin deal is a joke, then everyone can be a loony clown. If this is a serious case under the scrutiny of one of the biggest democratic countries in the world, then everyone is less sane already.

  3. Om’bak « Angela Dewan's Portfolio Says:

    […] […]

Leave a Reply

